Alternative Photo Editors II

SwirlLast time I blogged about using some “built-in” image manipulation utilities for the Vista operating system. Today’s topic is Bibble 4 from Bibble Labs.

I downloaded an evaluation version of Bibble Lite 4.9.5. There is also a version called Bibble Pro. Bibble Pro offers things like work queues, multi-processor support, and tethered shooting – stuff my little operation doesn’t need.

At the time of this writing, Bibble Lite is only $69.95. This seems pretty reasonable to me for a program with such high-end features. Another plus is that you can get it for Windows, Mac, or Linux.

The first thing I found out was that you need a pretty good machine to run this software. Computers don’t get replaced too often around here due to budget constraints so I don’t have the latest and greatest. Bibble ate up my old desktop PC with a single 1.3GHz processor and 640MB of RAM. It was really un-usably slow in my opinion. When I moved it to a slightly newer machine with a 2.8GHz processor and 1GB of RAM (and probably with a lot less extraneous junk running on it) everything ran fine and dandy.

Bibble has many of the same features as Adobe Lightroom – exposure, vibrance, saturation, highlight recovery, fill light, and sharpening. It also has a couple unique features like “Perfectly Clear” and “Noise Ninja”. There is a clone (“healing”) tool that Lightroom does not provide.

Perfectly Clear is sort of an automated “one click” image fixing dealie. It adjusts a slew of parameters at once to give you what it thinks is the best image possible. I does a good job, but as with all automatic stuff it never gave me exactly what I wanted. It gives a nice starting point though and with a couple of manual tweaks the results were pretty nice.

The Noise Ninja stuff provides a way to remove, what else, noise in your pics. It seemed to work well, but I didn’t feel like digging through my images looking for a really noisy shot that could provide a good test so I can’t say much about it.

Bibble supports a whole heap of raw camera formats including my Nikon D200 NEF files. The chances are pretty good that it will handle yours. You can see the list on their website.

Like I said in my first entry, I’m not doing an exhaustive review of these programs – I’m just pointing out some maybe lesser known image editing software options that are available. I especially like companies that supply evaluation versions. That way you can download the stuff and try it for yourself in your particular workflow. Suffice to say that Bibble Lite packs a lot of editing power and flexibility into a reasonably priced package. It is definitely worth a look before you buy anything.

MDW

2 Responses to “Alternative Photo Editors II”

  1. fencer Says:

    Hi there,

    Thanks for the straightforward information about Bibble… I’d run across mention of it before without really knowing what it was.

    I’ve been using Lightroom a little bit, too, and quite like it, especially for experimenting with black and white shots from RAW.

    I really like your post and photos about Junk in the Woods. I just love finding old cars and machinery in the bush. Great photos, and since I often take photos as reference for painting, good material.

    Enjoy your site…

    Regards

  2. forestrat Says:

    Thanks for coming to visit!

    Next time I’m going to take a look at some open source stuff – UFRaw and GIMP.

    MDW

Leave a Reply

