Niagara Falls

Niagara FallsI didn’t have any new shots to post this week so I decided to go into the vault and pull out something from way back. And I mean way back.

I took this photograph of Niagara Falls maybe twenty years ago. I was using Kodachrome at that time. I liked Kodachrome. Like the song says – “… they give us the nice bright colors, they give us the greens of summers, make you think all the world’s a sunny day …”

Well, as I understand it, Kodachrome is tough to develop – requiring lots of nasty chemicals and a system the size of an eighteen wheeler. I think that there is only one lab in the US that processes it anymore. You can still buy 35mm 64 film, but that is about it and who knows how long that will last.

Over the years Kodak has gradually replaced Kodachrome with the Ektachrome line. The switch to Ektachrome was not too tough for me. I had been away from photography for a while and when I got back I just made the jump right off the bat. Each film has a unique look so it isn’t a direct replacement, but the higher speeds and ease of processing (I did it in my basement) made Ektachrome a good choice for me.

Of course digital is chewing traditional film up pretty bad these days. My guess is that film will always be around as a niche sort of a thing for artists working on a particular look, but the mainstream is all about digital from now on.

I like being able to take my digital out and take one shot at 100 and then crank the very next frame up to 640 if I like. Shooting outside the light levels can vary quite a bit.

I also like being able to come home at the end of the day and just download the pics. I can start the process, take a hot shower, and viola! when I get out there they are ready to sort through. No chemicals, no temperature controlled water baths, and no waiting for weeks to see my pics while I save up a bunch of rolls in order to batch process them.

A digital camera also eliminates the scanning process and all that time spent cleaning up the dust and scratches that always seem to appear on film no matter how careful you are when handling it.

MDW

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Niagara Falls”

  1. Bernie Kasper Says:

    Very powerful image Mark, I agree completely with you on the film vs. digital, I know there is a huge argument on which looks better but for me the convenience of digital for out ways any other reason to stay with film.

  2. Bobbie Says:

    Now THAT is a waterfall!

    Add me to the list of those who was happy to migrate from film to digital when the time came. (My personal favorite, though, was not Kodachrome but Fuji Velvia — especially for macro.)

Leave a Reply

