Redkey Indiana

Gold Medal Flour

You’ve probably never heard of Redkey before. Not many people have. As of the 2000 census there were about 1400 people living here. Just one of many little mid-western towns that got hammered by changes in American society since WWII.

I was here visiting relatives over the holidays so I didn’t have much time, but one night just after dark I took a walk toward downtown. The side streets are unlit and the sidewalks are dangerous in the dark – cracked, twisted, humped, crumbled, sometimes non-existent, and often dotted with an assortment of kids’ bicycles and empty trash bins – so I walked in the road. Very few cars are out so it’s not a problem.
hydrant
This is flat land. A place where the highest point for miles around is the highway overpass. A place where cold winter winds flow unhindered over the acres and acres of corn stubble surrounding the town.

There aren’t many businesses here anymore. For every occupied building I pass three abandoned ones. Some are in decent shape, some are boarded up, and some the wind flows in one side and out the other trailing tattered curtains out empty window panes.

Once this was a social and commercial center for people from the surrounding farms, but no more. Large modern farms now employ more machines than they do people and the highway curving around the edge of town whisks drivers away to bigger towns with mega shopping centers and chain restaurants.

The post office lobby throws some light along one street. A man takes his dog for a walk to pick up the mail. A freight train slowly moves through the middle of town. Everything is flashing lights and bells and whistles and rumbling for a few minutes and then it falls quiet again.

water tower

The Redkey Palace Theater, a surprisingly popular blues venue, is dark tonight – it’s a weekday. I went there once years ago back when I lived in Indiana.  Leon Redbone was playing I think.

The buildings often double as billboards. Many of them urge me to chew tobacco. The one pictured here is about flour.

Walking around town and driving through the farmland around here presented me with lots of ideas for images – old barns and houses, beautifully formed trees standing alone in fields against wide blue skies, broken glass on the sidewalk. I’ve kept those ideas, those phantom images, in my mind waiting for a time when I don’t have other things to do and I can make them real.

MDW

Tags: , , , , , , ,

57 Responses to “Redkey Indiana”

  1. lookingforbeauty Says:

    I love going to places that are very different from my own home. My eyes become much more alert, trying to fix the new imagery in time.

    These almost-ghost towns are sad places, but they are time capsules as well. Some of your photos here remind me of photos of the Dirty Thirties. Perhaps we are coming back to those economically frugal times again. So this is a tough reminder that times are not always boom times.
    The picture of the brick wall with the bright blue, modern post is interesting for its contrast.
    As always, an interesting post that takes me into a different world.
    K

  2. forestrat Says:

    K,

    I don’t know if we will ever be able to return to small close knit towns filled with locally owned businesses. I’d like to do it, but maybe I’m just getting old and crotchety.

    MDW

  3. flandrumhill Says:

    I live in a ‘small close knit town filled with locally owned businesses ‘but this past year a few of them have closed. It’s so disheartening. In order for small town businesses to thrive people have to be willing to do with fewer choices and restricted shopping hours. Not a bad compromise for small town vitality but I doubt if most people see it that way.

  4. forestrat Says:

    flandrum,

    It is certainly tough to run a small business these days. We had a dratted Wal-Mart super store go up not far outside of town and that killed off a bunch of local businesses in one fell swoop. Bummer.

    MDW

  5. flandrumhill Says:

    The same thing happened here forestrat. The biggest loss was the hardware store. Last year the Walmart moved to a new location even farther away from our community. I doubt if anyone will be photographing these abandoned big box stores decades from now. They’re not even aesthetically appealing when they’re brand new.

  6. carman2111 Says:

    I was born and raised in Redkey. What people fail to realize is even though these buildings may be crumbling on their foundations, the close knit community is still there alive and well. This is really a refreshing change when your neighbor still cares about your well being and actually stops and talks with someone you meet walking down the street even if it is cracked, twisted, humped, crumbled, sometimes non-existent, and often dotted with an assortment of kids’ bicycles and empty trash bins. I live in New Orleans now and would love to walk down those streets again in the dark. Not nearly as dangerous.

  7. forestrat Says:

    Thanks for leaving a note, carman.

    I’m not saying Redkey is a total ghost town, just that it ain’t what it used to be.

    I too grew up in a small town where people knew each other and supported each other. I actually remember going to ice cream socials at the local Baptist church!

    Then I went away to college and was somehow away for about 20 years. When I got back the town I knew was gone. Sure there are still some of the people here, thank heavens, but where is the hardware store, the bank, the diner, the barber shop, the library in the back of the old church – places folks used to hang around and shoot the breeze.

    Ah, the good old days. I wonder if we can ever go back?

    MDW

  8. Jody Says:

    It was interesting to see Redkey through the eyes of someone that doesn’t live here that see’s what I see, and I live here. My family and I moved here 4 years ago because I refused to raise my kids somewhere that I couldn’t let them go outside without constant supervision and a tall fence. I was raised in a town that makes Redkey look large, and I remember how important local business is simply for the exchange of the daily news. We have struggled as a new family here simply due to the lack of information on local goings on coupled with the fact that we commute. I knew what I might face moving here since we moved to the town I grew up in when I was 4 and it seemed like I was in high school before I didn’t feel like we were the new people.

  9. forestrat Says:

    Thanks for dropping by Jody. The advent of the automobile and our modern highway system certainly has changed the way we live. A lot of people think that social sites on the Internet are a replacement for the old face to face community, but I don’t think so. I’m not sure where it is all going, I guess we’ll see.

    MDW

  10. Dave Says:

    Hello, is there anyone familiar with how often the trains pass through Redkey, any particular time of day? I like these photos, took some this past weekend in Redkey and on the way down, through Petroleum, IN. Many downtowns such as this are simply a thing of the past, very unfortunate for us all. I am from Decatur, I remember the various downtown hardware stores, the dime-stores, the wooden floors as they creaked as you walked in, the grates you walked across to the basements below… I miss it for sure, those old building have character, unlike most today. I wish someone would at least re-open “Yester-years” downtown Redkey, we always enjoyed going there to eat, great building. In Decatur we lost three different rail services we had at one time, Penn-Central, Erie Lackawanna, and Indiana Hi-rail, all that’s left is the “spur-line” from New-Haven to mainly service the former Central Soya plant in Decatur. Along with our downtown, we lost many industrial jobs, including the closing of our General Electric Plant, shortly after WWII it employed nearly 1500, we also lost our casting plant that serviced GE back in the day, Decatur Casting, it had as many as 300 employees at one time. We lost Wayne Novelty, another 100 plus employees, it used to have contracts with the Military. One place I like to visit is a small hardware store, Linn Grove Indiana, if anyone is in this area, West of Berne Indiana 5 miles or so, or East of Indiana Hwy 1 six or eight miles, off 218, not often you find stores such as this one anymore.

    • forestrat Says:

      Can’t help you on the train times, Dave. I just happened to be in Redkey when one went by. When I am there visiting I don’t seem to hear them go by all that often, but then maybe I just don’t pay attention.

      The loss of small town business is certainly a sad situation. I don’t know if they will ever come back or not. Economic forces are against it, but maybe people will someday get tired of driving to big box stores and start a revival of local businesses.

      MDW

  11. SCOTTe. Says:

    I too was born and raised in Redkey … man, the good old days of small town living. I’m not positive but the pizza restaurant appears to be the site of the old, nearly “World Famous” Shambarger’s. Google that one if you want a little more Redkey history. Anyway, the underbelly of the old water tower was a nice touch, I’ve probably stood in that exact spot a hundred times or so. Way cool. I sure miss the old place. Thanks.

    • forestrat Says:

      I didn’t know about Shambarger’s. I’ll be out in Indiana for a visit in a couple weeks and I’ll see what my relatives can tell me about it.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      MDW

    • GARRYZ Says:

      I too grew up in Redkey, I use to work at Shambarger’s as well as my brothers and sister. What a shame to see it all gone.

  12. Sara Sue Says:

    When we lived in Ohio in the 70’s I heard about a chef in Redkey, IN, that people flew in to enjoy. He cooked in front of his customers for an evening of entertainment and unbelievable food. I hope that is the Shambarger’s mentioned above. My son is now a chef in Hot Springs, Arkansas, and I would like to inspire him with this story!

  13. Sara Sue Says:

    Googled on Shambarger’s Restaurant and found a minnetrista.net site with a great article about it. The article confirmed everything I ever heard. Does anybody remember what an evening at Shambarger’s cost in the 70’s?

  14. Bob Says:

    I grew up in Redkey. The current pizza place is where Shambarger’s used to be. On a weekend night, we would walk by and see cars and buses from all over the US and Canada there to go eat. Also, Mr. Shambarger would have an intermission during the meal in which the diners would walk around the town. For Redkey, this was somewhat surreal.

    The youngest Shambarger daughter was in my graduation class. Her graduation present was to have a dinner for her classmates in the restaurant. The food was great, the show was better. Mr. Shambarger would come out with the food in various costumes. The strawberry pie was made in the middle of the room with sugar going everywhere.

    I can’t remember what the cost for dinner was. At the time, it seemed expensive, but I was a smalltown high school student.

  15. forestrat Says:

    Thanks for all the info on Shambarger’s, folks. I’m afraid it was gone before I got to that part of Indiana. My wife remembers it, but she was just a kid when it was in its hey day.

    I love to find unique out of the way places like this. Some of them become a family tradition and last for years and years, but others seem to come out of nowhere, run for a while, and then poof they are gone.

    MDW

  16. JP Says:

    The last time I ate at Shambarger’s, sometime in the early 70’s, it cost $65.15 per person (NOT including gratuity!). It was worth every penny. The meal consisted of 13 courses and took 7 hours to eat. We started at 6:00 pm and they cut the “mile-high” strawberry pie (it was 15″ tall) at midnight. Reservations had to be booked at least a year in advance. The place would comfortably seat about 50, but they would pack in 100 people every Friday and Saturday night. It was literally elbow to elbow, but nobody cared……it was a party! And no alcohol was served. Everything in the building was antique, from the furnishings to the dishes you ate from. And everything had a price tag on it. You could buy your plate and take it home for a souvenir. Sure cut down on dishwashing! The restaurant was only a few feet from the railroad track and every night at the same time, a train came by like clockwork. Everybody would run outside and put pennies on the track for a keepsake. People came to Redkey in buses and motorhomes to eat at Shambargers. Celebrities and politicians came as well. I have photos of Neil Armstrong and Johnny Mathis taken with chef John Shambarger. Once Redkey’s claim to fame, Shambarger’s world-famous restaurant is but a fond, fond, memory!

  17. LAW Says:

    I love your photo taken from under the water tower at Christmas time! I grew up in Redkey. My parents and several siblings still live there. My husband and I and our two daughters were just there visiting at Thanksgiving. We walked those downtown streets! We were just commenting to each other about how much it has changed since we were in high school (25+ years ago) and how we would have loved to have seen Redkey in its hay-day!

    The town has just undergone a dramatic change. In October, they took down that beloved old water tower. It was too expensive to repair. The new one is out by the park, but it is just not the same. As a child, I always eagerly awaited the tower to be lighted at Christmas! We lived just a block away and I could see those lights from my bedroom window at night. I would stare at them until I fell asleep. Our family misses that familiar landmark! My girls always knew they were getting close to Grandma & Grandpa’s house when they could see the old Redkey water tower!

    On another note, several of my siblings worked at Shambarger’s. My brother still lives in the old Shambarger house right behind the restaurant. They have great memories and stories from working there.
    It was a pizza place when I was in high school and I worked there then.

    Progress is a wonderful thing. The technology of today is amazing! But, there are still times when I wish that small towns, like Redkey, could remain as they were when they were booming!

    • forestrat Says:

      My sister in law lives in Redkey and did not tell me that they took down the water tower. I’ll be out for a visit around Christmas and maybe I’ll have time to take some more pictures.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      MDW

  18. J Anderson Says:

    I was born and raised in Redkey. My father was principal of RHS for many years before becoming Dean of Students at Jay County High School when the schools were consolidated. I also worked at Shambarger’s restaurant for a while and the Shambargers were a great family to work for. I also remember Jim Davis who was a great friend to my father and a teacher at RHS as well and black belt in Karate. Spent alot of time at Jake’s pool hall and cruising the town and surrounding country areas with friends. Jeff Miller, Mike(Mad Dog) Robbins, and Scott Elliott, Kerry and Jerry o’brien, Tammy Stanley and Rhonda Shirley were among my best friends while growing up in the area.

  19. Clay Says:

    A few weeks ago a friend and I drove from Ft Wayne to Muncie, Indiana to attend the drag races. We passed thru Redkey on the way down and decided that on the way back home we needed to spend a little time investigating the place and take some photos. The main draw for me was what appeared to be some hand painted “ghost signs” on the walls of a few buildings.

    We must have spent at least an hour walking down the main drag taking pictures and checking out the abandoned storefronts. Hard to say exactly what the appeal was, but you didn’t have to look too hard to see what a busy place Redkey had been in its prime. It looked like there might have been a couple small businesses giving it a go here and there, but this was a Sunday evening and nothing was officially open for business.

    There was just sort of a strange vibe to the area, walking across the street with no traffic in sight and peering in at the strange contents thru the windows of the old stores. But it was a good strange vibe. For the lack of activity the streets and sidewalks were clean and clear of debris, save for the odd bicycle or two. It gave me the impression that I had stumbled onto a movie studio set.

    As I stood in the middle of the street framing another photo, a young boy, maybe 10 years old, walked down the sidewalk carrying a skateboard and a gallon milk jug half full of water. Soon after that an older woman pushed a stroller with her grandchild, I’m guessing, down the street. She stopped on the single set of railroad tracks for a moment to tend to the child and then they moved along out of sight. I thought of asking if I could take a few shots of them but also wondered what kind of reaction I’d get. I felt like quite the stranger here, but not so much that I don’t want to go back again sometime.

    I got home and downloaded my pictures and decided to see what I might find out about Redkey online. Wasn’t expecting much, but found this site and learned about the world famous Shambarger’s Restaurant. I’ve lived in Ft Wayne my entire life and had never heard any mention of the place. An image search turned up a surpising number of photos. Amazingly, there were several that looked very similar to the ones I’d just taken.

    This town of Redkey has an unusual attraction for people with camers it would seem.

    • forestrat Says:

      Hey Clay,

      The Redkey Palace Theater is closed for the summer, but you should catch a show when the season starts. Even if you aren’t a blues fan, it’s a happening.

      Someday I’m going to travel around the mid-west visiting all the long lost little towns like this.

      MDW

  20. Oldcostie Says:

    From the glowing remarks I read, you people must have grown up in a different Redkey, Indiana than i did. The town was a deedy little place, with seedy little people in charge in the 1950’s. They has a school board that was a joke, dont think a any of them had more that a high school education. Why was a superintedant of schools needed for one school town? Sounds like a oxymoron to me. The curriculum for the high school was so bad,; the only foreign language offered was Latin, and that was a dead language. The highest math I could take was solid geomentry. While taking the United States Coast Guard Academy examination, I was totally lost.

    Yes, Shambargars was a great restaurant, but thay had a guy working there that ran a photography shop next door that was a flamer. O don’t forget the guy that ran the varity store, with the soda in the rear of the store. He loved to have teenage boys stop by after closing hours and show his collection of nutuist magisines. Another flamer.

    All in all, Redkey is a great place to be very far away from!

  21. Campfire Says:

    I really appreciate the fact that you’ve created your own blog and have in fact publish your thoughts. I admire your work and feel I can refer to what you’ve done. A lot of folks can’t even imagine having such talent. I hope that you know how lucky you are. :) Good luck to you in ALL your objectives. :)

  22. Trish Says:

    I remember most the days of Gas Boom days and town fairs. I always loved that no matter whos kid you were everyone rooted you on just because you were from Redkey. When out takin a walk or riding your bike, you could stop at almost any house and use the restroom because you knew them that well. I miss the days as a kid being able to go to the dime store and by 1cent gum and junky little toys. I lived there most of my life until bout 3 yrs ago. My mother and grandparents told me many stories about the bakery, movies and bowling alley…. photography studios and so much more….even the hotel where Dilinger himself stayed. I go back once a month and enjoy remembering all the things as a kid…

    • MDW Says:

      Thanks for stopping in, Trish.

      It would be interesting to be able to go back in time and experience small towns like Redkey back in their heyday. Oh well.

      MDW

  23. George Barfield Says:

    Forestrat: Thanks for your blog. I lived in Redkey for several years in the seventies. Ours was the only black family there. I found it to be nice place. However, it did have its “colonialisms.” Small town stuff. I served as Cubmaster for a couple years and I worked at Shambarger’s for awhile. Then I married the youngest daughter Sara, and we moved away. We have been married now for thirty-three years and live in Michigan. Shambarger’s was an awesome experience for many people. But what was most important was the love for people of John and Harriet Shambarger. Oh! I heard on the news yesterday that Panera Bread was doing a program at some of their restaurants allowing people to pay what they could afford. Tom Shambarger, John’s father, did that back in the 40s at Shambarger’s.

    • GARRYZ Says:

      George: How I remember you so. Sara was my youth teacher at the old methodist church on main St. I remember Sara being such a freind to my bother Larry before he was killed in a car wreck on 167 outside of Dunkirk. I was heart broken when you guys moved away. 33 years, my how we have aged!

    • David l. Bradley Says:

      did you live in Fort Wayne once??

  24. Thom Says:

    So happy John gave my mom a copy of his hamloaf recipe! We just had it for Christmas

  25. John shambarger | Putnamcountyfr Says:

    […] Redkey Indiana « Forest RatJan 4, 2009 … Celebrities and politicians came as well. I have photos of Neil Armstrong and Johnny Mathis taken with chef John Shambarger. Once Redkey’s … […]

  26. John Hill Says:

    John Shambarger was my uncle. I have many fond memories of working at the restaruant. We made salad dressing on Saturday, Late in the afternoon we would have veal cutlets. Grandma Shambarger always saved me a piece of sugar cream pie.

    I have some of uncle John’s receipts. Email me at jtookers@aol.com if you would like a copy.

  27. Marshall Says:

    Just found this blog, and like oldcostie, I went to Redkey High in the 1950’s. What a joke the school was along with the town.. That guy with the nude books ran the sweet shop. He hit on me twice until I told him I would kick his rear. There were about four mothers that were having affairs with guys in high school. Seemed strange to take the daughter home and find Mon waiting for her romp in the hay.

    There were a whole nest of older guys looking for younger guys to Play their meat games.

    I guess it was not to bad, what with the girls, their Mothers, and the Saturday night dances, then the big old oak tree just east of town. I think I know oldcostie.

    The old Marshall

  28. suzie Says:

    Looking for some the “West” family, wondered if any of them are still around. Jack West had 3 or 4 kids, was quite a drinking man, married a redhead, her father use to be in the circus!! About I know just wondered if any of the off spring were still there.

  29. David l. Bradley Says:

    My great grand-dad operated a lumber mill / lumber yard in Redkey. Carrie Ayres, and Aunt Blanche managed the lumber business. I would give anything to see what that mill looked like inside and out. I was there as a kid in the 50’s, but wasn’t smart enough to see the end coming for that business. My father grew up in Redkey until 1936, when my grand dad Gordon Bradley decided that he wasn’t a farmer. They then moved to Fort Wayne. The building materials used in the construction of my parets home after ww2 came from the Redkey yard. I believe they owned yards in Dunkirk, Hartford City and Portland. If anybody has any pictures of the mill, I would be interested.

  30. Patty Ormsby Says:

    I have a program from Shambarger’s from 1971 or 1972. It includes an article from the Wall Street Journal of July 8, 1968 when dinner was $10 per person. An article from August – September 1971 said dinner was $18.50. I remember having gone one time in early to mid 70s when it was $25.00 per person and I believe at that time they were only open 3 nights a week and reservations were booked about a year in advance. I know we went a second time, but I do not remember the price of dinner. I remember the long tables, being seated elbow to elbow on both sides of the banquet type tables that had been pushed together end to end. The food was the best and the entertainment was spectacular with John Shambarger’s antics throughout the 13 course dinner that took nearly 7 hours.

  31. Terry Cameron Says:

    I grew up on a farm near Redkey in the 50’s. Once when I was 9yrs old, I left my lunch on the bus. The principle gave me thirty cents and sent me to town to get my lunch. I remember walking down the street wondering what I wanted to eat. As I walked past Shambargers, the tables with the white cloths looked so attractive, that I chose and walked in. The restaurant was not open for business but I didn’t know that and I sat down at the counter. John’s father came up and inquired if he could help me. I told him about leaving my lunch and the principle giving me money to eat lunch. I asked him if I could get lunch for thirty cents. He replied
    “absolutely”, and went into the back. In a few minutes he returned with a plate that contained a piece of steak, a baked potato and a roll. As I began to eat he came back with a tall glass of milk and the largest piece of of strawberry pie that I had ever seen. When I was finished I handed him the thirty cents, thanked him and turned to leave. He said “hold on young man, the meal was only twenty four cents, you have change coming”. I waited while he rang up the sale and handed me six cents. It was a couple of years before I realized how much a meal at Shambargers was. I have never forgotten that kindly old man and the only meal I ever ate at Shambargers.

  32. Kristin Says:

    What a great place to read stories about Redkey! My husband and I made our first trip there this weekend to buy an old stained glass window from the once First United Brethren church, which is now a private home. I was trying to find some interesting facts about Redkey history and the church and happened upon this page. Fun to hear the first-hand stories of the good and bad of life in Redkey. If anyone has any tips about where to find more info about Redkey, especially in the late 20s when the church was rebuilt due to a fire, that would be great!

    • John Hill Says:

      Kristin,

      Go to Historic Redkey on facebook. There are many photos and stories about Redkey. I also have some info on Redkey. Email me at jtookers@aol.com if you are interested.

      John

    • John Hill Says:

      Kristin,

      Go to Historic Redkey on facebook. There are many photos and stories about Redkey. I also have some info on Redkey. Email me at jtookers@aol.com if you are interested.

  33. Kristin Says:

    .

  34. Jeff Caldwell Says:

    I lived in Redkey most of my life. I remember three gas stations, McCords 5 & 10, two laundry mats, whites appliance store,Devlin Drug Store, Union bank at the four way stop, the grain elevator, the canning factory, the restaurant at the old Gray Hotel, two taverns, a carry out, leather shop and of course Jake’s Pool Hall. Redkey was a great place to live in the 70s, a safe place to live. Not such a great place now, everything in closed down. Redkey was a town full of characters. I agree what a shame to see it all gone! I live out out of state now but, go back to Redkey quite often as I have family and friends there. It seems like every time I go back another business has closed.most recently the bank. It seems like when the school closed the town died. Enjoy the comments on the old town.

    • John Hill Says:

      I remember the place well. I would go there during the summer early 50’s. Then it was run by an older man. I cannot recall his name. It cost a nickel a cue to play a game. The loser paid for the winner. One day my Grandfather Shambarger caught me there. My grandfather visited in the afternoon to play poker. He never told my parents.

      The fire siren was located on the old water tower. It went off at nine each nigjht when the migrants were in town to pick tomatoes. That meant they had to be off tjhe streets and back at their camp. My cousin and I helped McCord move his store across from Devlins. I remember the grand opening for the Key theater. Forsest Tucker, the movie star, was there to open the theater. There was also a sawmill located maybe three or four blocks east of the Key theater.

      I left Redkey when I was 18. I have lived in Tampa the past 46 years. I have taken my two sons back to Redkey for two visits. It was quite a cultural shock for them.

      • Jeff Caldwell Says:

        John I remember the saw mill and several other small businesses that tried to make it in Redkey. I live just outside of Tampa. This talk makes me long for the good old days in Redkey. Clarence Smiley was one of the Redkey charactors that worked at the saw mill. I can imagine it is a culture shock for your son’s

      • John Hill Says:

        There was a man named Red who ran a coffee shop. He worked nights. He was a rough looking guy maybe fifty or so. We would hang out there at night listening to his stories.

  35. Kathy Myers Says:

    I don’t have a comment about the above story, but am looking for information about a house fire on Thanksgiving day that badly burned a little girl, and her father also got burned.

  36. Rayna Says:

    Kathy- I am the girls mother. What exactly are you wanting to know?

  37. Kyle Cameron Says:

    I grew up outside of Redkey. Lots of good memories. Really enjoyed all the good readings here.

    • Jeff Caldwell Says:

      There are a lot of good stories combined with a lot of good memories. This post is in memory of my mother Deloris Denney. She lived in Redkey all of, her eighty years. She passed away on 4/7/2015.

  38. ipad mini black friday 2015 Says:

    ipad mini black friday 2015

    Redkey Indiana | Forest Rat

  39. King Richard Says:

    I have very fond memories of the 3 years I lived in Redkey as a child. A lovely small town to be a child in.

  40. Amber Russell Says:

    The town of Redkey still remains little but life is starting to come back to this little quiet town. I and many more residents of the Redkey area have opened up stores providing shopping, antiques, primitive goods, dining and of course The Key Palace has entertainment and dining again. We have also started in the past year several seasonal events and starting monthly events as well. We would love for you to come check things out and see how much it’s grown. You can also get more information on The Redkey festival committee site and Facebook. Thank you and have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

